Home > English, TILT Music Blog > TILT Music Blog – Faded Paper Figures

TILT Music Blog – Faded Paper Figures

It’s been a while since I’ve come across a group that makes me want to write about them.  I keep looking but either I’m getting pickier or there is nothing out there impressing me.  Then I decided to give Faded Paper Figures a listen and I must say it’s good to get what you crave when you are craving it.

This trio from Irving, California has a sound that travels between electronica and indie rock with very sweet harmonies in their melodies and key sounds that travel the 8 bit frontier for brief occasions just before they enter into rawk goodness.  In occasions it’s a fair assessment to say that they resemble a little what The Postal Service did in that “one album” of theirs and never repeated leaving the space for others to take advantage of it.  And so FPF did exactly that. 

Says the story that this group started as a side project.  I’m not surprised there.  Every great band I’ve liked so far started that way.  This original side project turned full band is assembled by John Williams in vocals and guitars, Kael Alden on guitars, drums, keys and machines and by Heather Alden on additional vocals. 

You know it’s funny.  You can tell you are going to like a band when you see their list of influences and you like each and every one of them.  In their Myspace page they mention Death Cab, Postal Service, Lali Puna, Notwist, Morrissey, etc.  How could it be wrong if it feels so right?

Dynamo is their first album which was release independently.  I’m amazed nobody has snatched them already.  It counts with twelve tracks that go from soft mellow acoustic infused songs to more upbeat happy go-lucky electronically complemented tracks that thru it all melt together to make a great crisp autumn’s morning soundtrack.  The artwork even though simple enough, is a great match up for what’s inside.  Simple, beautiful, colorful, amicable. 

It’s very hard for me to start picking from the songs since it’s been a long long time since I was able to listen to an album start to finish multiple times without skipping some of the tracks.  That’s an accomplishment in itself.  But I guess I can start by mentioning “North By North” the first song on the album.  The duet between Jon and Heather on the chorus is so beautiful and on the background those high pitch keys and the horns are just great.  Then I would have to go with “Logos“.  It has a very catchy intro guitar and the chorus has a great hook.  I’m personally naming this the theme song of my blog Logos Y Titulos (Logos & Titles).  The song “B Film” is just another great song with a nice melody and beat.  Lastly I’ll mention “Metropolis” just because if I keep this up I’ll mention every single song.  This perhaps is the song that has the most in common with Postal Service, but not enough to accuse them of anything.  It’s just indietronica sublimeness. The noises and effects are very well placed through out the song and the beat is perfect for a fast walking moment in a place such as New York.  Just headphones in your ears, glasses on your eyes and music in your head taking over the noise of the city.  I’m so glad I decided to give this album a try. 

So do yourself a favor and buy this album.

http://www.myspace.com/fadedpaperfigures
fadedpaperfigures.com/


North by North from the album Dynamo

  1. f.nic
    January 11, 2009 at 9:55 am

    Right on with your review! I can’t believe how quickly this album started getting high play rotation in my collection. It’s the first album I’ve bought off CD Baby in mp3 form because I couldn’t wait to get a physical copy. I’d agree with your album picks esp. Logos–great lyrics, cool feel, and great melody.

  2. Jessie181
    April 27, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    Great review! I found the band through a blog as well, and i can’t stop singing their praises.
    oh, and thanks for embedding my video!🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

