Home > English, TILT Music Blog > TILT Music Blog – Russian Red

TILT Music Blog – Russian Red

So yes.   I know I’ve been out of the loop for a while.  Mostly lack of time would sum up why I have not been updating TILT.  Yet today I just had to.  I’m taking time out of my work schedule and updating the readers (all 3 of you lol) about a recent musical discovery of mine.  Russian Red.  I’m just wow.  The last time a female singer/songwriter got me off balance was Lisa Loeb back in 94 (before the Zappa fase).  She comes from Madrid, Spain and her latest album “I Love Your Glasses” is a sublime combination of mellow acoustic based songs with delicate vocal arrengements.  As I told a friend of mine recently, her voice and music was getting my blood pressure down and leaving me in a zombie-like state for a few minutes.  It was just so sweet and gracefully attracting me to stay put listening and processing it all.  The three top songs of the album that I cannot stop replaying are “Cigarettes” (just incredibly simple yet powerful), “nice thick feathers” and “take me home“.  Lucky for you guys reading, all three of those are on her myspace, so you can listen to them right away.  If you like indie folky acoustic music with a fenomenal sweet and captivating female voice, then you need to look no further.  This girl is up there with Kath Bloom on my book.  Enjoy it and get that album.

http://www.myspace.com/russianready

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qCvrQFRyz6M
Video for Cigarettes

  1. April 17, 2008 at 3:42 am

    ¡Gracias por esta sugerencia!

    De paso, algo anda mal con los enlaces. Ambos apuntan a myspace, y dan error 404.

    Aquí el myspace.

    Aquí el vídeo improvisado de YouTube.

  1. July 4, 2008 at 4:08 am

Leave a Reply

