Home > English, TILT Music Blog > TILT Music Blog – Gary Jules

TILT Music Blog – Gary Jules

Gari Jules, I found once again on one of these blogs that I tend to frequent (man I’m lovin them).  I had no idea what it was, so I did the usual.  typed the name of the artist + myspace in google and visit their page to listen to them.  The first song that came on was “Mad World“, a simple dual guitar, bass and piano tune that I can swear I’ve heard before.  So sweet, so sad yet so hard to forget, the problem is that I’m sure I listen to it in some tv show or movie, where it acts as a contrapart to the film and one get’s lost on the reel and let the music go to the subconcious.  But then, you get a second chance and find it.  This song is as beautiful as it is well constructed.  It’s a folk not so indie that reminds me of the early 70’s crooners with a little touch of modernism (just a bit).  Then I listened to the other tracks, “Falling Awake” which was used in another TV Show “Greys Anatomy” also a magnificent acoustic folk song and “Gone Daddy” reminded me to singers like Jack Johnson.  So of course, after listening to four great songs, I had to get my hands on his latest album, which is self titled and you can get from his webpage.  I have to say that I’m liking it very much.  For a week of the fourth of july, with half the office gone, and not a hell of a lot to do…nothing like a good acoustic folk album to keep the mood.  Nothing beats a slow monday.

http://www.myspace.com/garyjules

http://cdbaby.com/cd/garyjules4
(here you can listen to the whole album)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4N3N1MlvVc4
video for the song “Mad World”

  1. January 7, 2010 at 9:40 am

    Cheers for making this post, I’m only beginning a blog covering global music, and I’m hoping that I can alter people’s notions on World music and bring us all a little nearer to each other. The World needs more cultural understanding and I’m sure you will nod your head when I say that music is the key. My sincere thanks again I’m subscribing via my RSS reader. Glyn, http:///www.toleranttraveler.com

  1. August 2, 2008 at 1:14 am

Leave a Reply

